Checkpoint: Monterey, CA

Wednesday, January 28, 2009. Day one of my TEDride: SF to Monterey

Greetings from Monterey, Califonia, the birthplace of the TED confrence (www.ted.com), and its home for 24 years. I arrived at the entrance of the Portola Plaza Hotel, where TED was held for years, at 6:40pm. I logged 139 miles in 11 hours and 20 minutes (9:11 in the saddle), at an average speed of 15 mph – fueled by 2 donuts, 2 PBJ sandwiches, 5 cans of Kerns fruit juice, 2 liters of water and a Diet Coke. How’s that for sitting on my butt all day!

The ride was great. The weather is incredible right now – sunny, with a mild ocean breeze – no rain or headwinds. I don’t understand it, but I’m enjoying it. Unlike driving in the car, you don’t just hop on the freeway. Though I’m following Highway 1 – aka, the Pacific Coast Highway, or “PCH” – it’s no fun sharing the road with big rigs, and on many sections of the road bicycles are prohibited. So, I’m relying on maps produced by a fantastic organization called the Adventure Cycling Association – the “Triple A” for long-distance cycling enthusiasts (www.adventurecycling.org). They specialize in mapping safe alternative routes that avoid the main freeway as much as possible. As a result, I spend very little time on Hwy 1 itself on the first day. I departed SF at sunrise, from the center of the Golden Gate Bridge. I had a champagne send-off with two local TEDsters, Macy McGinness and Nancy Spector. Here’s a short video Macy made:


During the day I made a few “video postcards” using my flip video camera. This video camera is fun, and I think it captures the spirit of the ride better than still photos. Here are just a few. See more of my video postcards on my YouTube page (www.youtube.com/mmdwight).

 

TEDride Video Postcard #1-Half Moon Bay

TEDride Video Postcard #3-Watsonville

TEDride Video Postcard #4-Sunset Shadows

I have about 360 miles to go over the next 4 days. More to follow…

Comments
2 Responses to “Checkpoint: Monterey, CA”
  1. Jim says:

    Mark,

    Excellent video journaling. Thanks for the vicarious journey.

    Jim

  2. Adam says:

    Mark,
    You look like your enjoying yourself! You are a much more fit and better man than I for being able to make it that far on that beautiful bike. Thank you for sharing so much along the way. Have a safe trip.

Leave a Reply

