Strange Change

StrangeChangeLast week, on two separate and unrelated occasions, I received as change a JFK half-dollar coin and a two-dollar bill. I wasn’t quite sure what to make of this, and on both occasions I hesitated, considered asking for “normal” change (quarters and ones), but then decided to pocket the awkward currency. In both instances my disposition shifted from slight annoyance to a sense of serendipity. Both made me smile, and consider that some positive divine force – however weak – might be at play. Or, that both of these people were somehow making a statement about “change” in observance of the inauguration. I fondly remember half-dollars from the 70’s, as something my late grandfather “Buddy” would give to my brother and me. I vaguely remember when the two dollar bill was reintroduced in 1976 in celebration of our bicentennial – and how silly we all thought it was even then. I was surprised to see that my fifty-cent piece was minted in 1994, and even more surprised to discover that they are still minted today – for collectors, and grandparents, no doubt. And as for two-dollar bills, which finally ceased printing in 2006, they’re almost as strange as three-dollar bills – which, of course, exist only as a manner of speech. I don’t intend to spend either. I slipped the two-dollar bill into my journal, and placed the fifty-cent piece on my dresser. Perhaps there’s a buffalo nickel or Indian head penny waiting for me this week. If so, I’ll keep those as well. Not so for any Canadian coins that might try to sneak into my pocket. That’s all for now. Keep the change.

Comments
2 Responses to “Strange Change”
  1. Kate says:

    It was only a few months ago that the Canadian dollar was on par with the US one – so, if you do get some of those Canadian coins, you might consider holding on to them. Can’t be a much more risky investment than a lot of what is happening in the stock market right now.

    And heck, even if you don’t like our coins (although our Royal Canadian Mint was the first mint in the world to issue a coloured circulation coin – http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Royal_Canadian_Mint ), we still like your bags up here in the great white north.

  2. Hey there, no offense intended to our neighbors to the north. I love Canada (and your currency). Indeed, I considered moving to Canada more than once over the past 8 years. When I was growing up, we used any Canadian pennies we found in gum ball machines — so I have fond memories of those too! Thanks for reading our blog. Cheers! -Mark

Leave a Reply

